This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Undefined symbol XXX using a C++ function

Admittedly I am new to C++ and am much more comfortable in ANSI C, so this might be a simple problem:

I have some C++ files for my application that are running on top of the CubeMX HAL from ST. I am running bare metal.

My project all compiles cleanly with no warnings or errors. When it tries to link I get an undefined symbol error. My suspicions are it has something to do with name mangling from C++, but I'm not certain. I am using the extern "C" {} around the c++ header files to accommodate the mixed c/c++

Below is the definition of the functions (overloaded), the complete include file, and a snippet from the usage that is throwing the linkage error.

linking...
DiscBoard-Interm\DiscBoard-Interm.axf: Error: L6218E: Undefined symbol GPIO::RWGpio(GPIO::Pin_e) (referred from max31856.o).
DiscBoard-Interm\DiscBoard-Interm.axf: Error: L6218E: Undefined symbol GPIO::RWGpio(GPIO::Pin_e, GPIO::AbstractState_e) (referred from max31856.o).
Not enough information to list image symbols.
Finished: 1 information, 0 warning and 2 error messages.

/**
   @brief Read/Write GPIO

This function will take the parameters and determine if the request is a read or write request.
   The index will be the particular IO to use, and the data passed is the set value.  If there is no
   set value passed in, the function will return the existing value.  If a value is passed, it will set
   the value and return.

Global variables
      none

*/
GPIO::AbstractState_e RWPGpio(GPIO::Pin_e PinIdx)
{
   GPIO_PinState State;
   GPIO::AbstractState_e retval;

if (GpioCfgTable[PinIdx].Idx == PinIdx)  //make sure table is consistent with request
   {
      State = HAL_GPIO_ReadPin(GpioCfgTable[PinIdx].Port,GpioCfgTable[PinIdx].Pin);
      if (GpioCfgTable[PinIdx].ActiveState == GPIO_PIN_SET)
      {