This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Getting started on a Secondary Bootloader, Cortex / STM32

I've never programmed a bootloader before, but need have one that does firmware reflashing over UART. Shouldn't be that bad, but I do need some pointers...

There are 7 questions below, but they all should be very easy...

1. I want to start the code at 0, have a 4k bootloader and the real code past that. This is about all I know for sure. I do not PLAN on using interrupts in my bootloader and instead will make a simple polling machine for what it's going to do.

2. - The bootloader should check the a hash of userflash, if something is wrong with a previous update, I want to stay in the bootloader and wait for another firmware update over UART. This means I need a table somewhere with the correct hash of the user flash, the bootloader hash, and maybe some settings hash to make sure nothing was altered somehow. Is there a common way to lay this out? My plan was to just make the bootloader a hundred bytes short of 4k in size, then use that remaining size to store the hashes as a fixed location and format. Will be a pain for debugging I'm sure!!! But it's something I think I want to see for production. Issues with this?

3. I'm using UART for the physical connection. But since I won't be running RTX during the bootloader, I'll need a separate library for this low level communication and not the RTX UART code. I'll also need anything else the bootloader will use - BUT - Can I reuse these functions and libs in my user code? I saw an NXP AppNote that said you want to keep anything your user code needs outside of the bootloader because it'll span sectors otherwise, not sure if this is really an issue - or why they said that.