This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

I am looking for intro material ARMv7

Hello,

I am trying to learn how to use the device, not the innermost working of the VSLI design.  :-)  I am consulting the Reference Manuals, but they are proving to be a challenge.

Please let me give some background, indicating what I know, and what I am trying to learn...

I have been a C/C++ developer for decades in Windows and Linux. I also have experience with small MCUs, 8 and 16bit, mostly in the PIC Microchip line.  I am migrating toward working in a project at my employer which is ARM based (short explanation, it's moving knowledge and support inside, off of contractor dependence)

To begin with, I have already been through the first two books by Valvano, and they were very helpful.  I am using the TI CCS environment and their TM4C boards.  However, the goal is the ARM V7 device by TI (Sitara AM335x), so I moved up to a BeagleBone board.

I have already done plenty of sample, simple programs accessing ports, registers, etc. But the ultimate project is using TI RTOS.  However, support from their community if horrible (in my experience, over the past 10 months).

Suddenly, trying to use the RTOS, accessing a port gives me a databus fault.  TI's position is use their libs... except they don't have samples and libs for what I need. (they pushed something that was not complete or comprehensive...  how nice of them)

I am NOT expecting anyone here to support that suite of software.  I just explain it to show the roadblock I encountered and how I am trying to learn from it.