How to debug an AEABI lib built with Keil on another IDE ?

Hello all,

This is my first time posting on a forum, so all feedbacks are welcome in order to improve !

I'll begin with the context information, followed by the issue encountered, and at the end, you'll find all the setup information (e.g. compiler version, and so on).

The context is as follows :

We have several applications that we want to support with different compilers : Clang (Keil), GCC, and IAR.

We also have two libraries that we offer in black box form and with an API defined in our headers so that people using our applications only focus on the application itself and not what's behind the scenes. To achieve this, we built the libraries with Keil and following the AEABI recommendations (Misc Controls added in the Linker panel : --library_interface=aeabi_clib).

Functionally speaking, it is working fine on the 3 compilers when we use the Keil libs into our applications.

The issue I'm facing is how to debug such libs.

When the application is a Keil project, so the app is Keil, and libs are Keil, the debugging experience is excellent, even with optimizations enabled. The call stack is 100% consistent, no address jumps or offsets are introduced, all function calls are perfectly followed.

However, when the application is let's say an IAR one, so the app is built with IAR, and the libs are still made with Keil, it sometimes happens that an offset is introduced, leading to some function calls not being tracable, like let's say this case :

• Function A calls Function B, which calls Function C, which also calls Function D. The callstack is therefore expected to be as such :
    • Function D // <-- let's say we stopped here to check the content of some variables / pointers
    • Function C
    • Function B
    • Function A
  • However, what I see is that :
    • Function D // <-- let's say we stopped here to check the content of some variables / pointers