This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Newbie want to learn Assembly on Raspberry Pi B 2.0 running Debian

Hello everybody,

I am new to Assembly programming and I would like to learn it.

Could you advise me which (e)books I should start with and the software I can use on my Raspberry Pi B 2.0 running Debian?

Thanks!

Parents
  • Hi krynobosman and welcome to the community!

Though I don't have a RasPi myself and can't recommend any books, I'm programming in assembly language myself on the Cortex-M.

I have a CubieBoard2 running Cubian Linux, which I use for testing Cortex-M code (it can be compiled and run on the Cortex-A), thus my environment would be similar to yours.

What I use is GCC-4.7.2 (the default compiler for Cubian), and I've made a few tests in assembly language. I run these programs on the command-line (via SSH).

First of all, I recommend that you go to the ARM Information Center and download the ARMv7AR Reference Manual.

Because the Cortex-M User Guides are so easy/quick to read, I also suggest that you take a look at the Cortex-M4 instruction set, because it gives you a quick overview of each instruction. Also the Table of Processor Instructions might be interesting. This should give you a quick start.

-But of course, your Cortex-A7 based Raspberry Pi can do much more than the Cortex-M4, so you'll also be interested in GPU and vector programming.

Since I don't know any books myself, I'll let other people recommend books; you may want to follow people like peterharris, daith, jyiu and chrisshore (though Joseph is a Cortex-M expert, he oftens answers questions about or related to assembly language, and his answers gives a good understanding on how the ARM architecture works).

In addition, I'd like to post a small quick-start on how you can compile a minimal assembly language program on the command-line.