ARM Embedded Linux Course: error building image using bitbake for raspberry pi 3

I am following the ARM Embedded linux course material and in the lab 1 there is an introduction on how to build an image for a raspberry pi 3. I followed the steps in the course and after modifying the files of bblayers.conf and local.conf, I run the command of bitbake rpi-basic-image which gives me an error of do_compile: oe_runmake failed. How to solve this? I have attached the log file, If I need to add more information do let me know. 

I am a beginner in this field so any help would be appreciated. 

Log: 

DEBUG: Executing shell function do_compile
NOTE: make -j 1
: && /bin/mkdir -p doc && { PATH='/home/cb/raspberryPi3/rpi-build/tmp-glibc/work/x86_64-linux/automake-native/1.15-r0/build/t/wrap:'$PATH && export PATH; } && /usr/bin/perl ../automake-1.15/doc/help2man --output=doc/automake-1.15.1 automake-1.15
help2man: can't get `--help' info from automake-1.15
Try `--no-discard-stderr' if option outputs to stderr
Makefile:3687: recipe for target 'doc/automake-1.15.1' failed
make: *** [doc/automake-1.15.1] Error 255
WARNING: exit code 1 from a shell command.
ERROR: oe_runmake failed
ERROR: Function failed: do_compile (log file is located at /home/cb/raspberryPi3/rpi-build/tmp-glibc/work/x86_64-linux/automake-native/1.15-r0/temp/log.do_compile.1066)

• the (sic) ARM Embedded linux course

Which one?

can't your course tutors help with this?

log file is located at /home/cb/raspberryPi3/rpi-build/tmp-glibc/work/x86_64-linux/automake-native/1.15-r0/temp/log.do_compile.1066

have you looked at that log file to see what it tells you?

• Hi,

where you able to solve this issue? I am having exactly the issue in the lab 1. I need help! here's the log file output:

DEBUG: Executing shell function do_compile
    NOTE: make -j 1