This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

How to calculate GFLOPS / GOPS ?

Hi. 

I'm an SoC design engineer and want to provide my customers with Mali-G51's ML nominal performance in terms of GFLOPS or GOPS or GMACS.

My GPU is Mali-G51MP4 at 800MHz and followings are information I get from articles.

- G51MP4 = 6 execution engines.

- Each execution engine = 4 SIMD Lanes.

- Each Lane = 4 MACs per cycle (not sure which data type is assumed.. fp32 or fp16 or int8 ???)

Then, my calculation of the nominal(ideal) ML processing capability is,  

(6 engine/MP4) x (4 lane/engine) x (4 MACs/lane) x 800MHz = 76.8 GMACs/second = 153.6 GFLOPs/second. 

Is it correct?

If the data type is fp32 above, then can I expect double the numbers above in case of fp16 ?

How about the case of int8 data type and GOPs calculation? 

•  - Each Lane = 4 MACs per cycle (not sure which data type is assumed.. fp32 or fp16 or int8 ???)

You get 4 FP32 MACs per execution engine.

(6 engine/MP4) x (4 lane/engine) x (4 MACs/lane) x 800MHz = 76.8 GMACs/second = 153.6 GFLOPs/second. 

There are some additional simple maths units which can run in parallel to the MAC hardware (adders, etc), but in terms of MAC performance which is probably what you care about for ML then that looks correct to me.

If the data type is fp32 above, then can I expect double the numbers above in case of fp16

Yes.

How about the case of int8 data type and GOPs calculation?

Should be double again.

Cheers, 
    Pete

• Thank you Peter.

I have one thing to clear about your answer to int8.

The article about the new G52 product(below) says that proper(=fast) 8bit operations are begun to start from Mali-G52 in mid-range GPU line-up.