This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Linear Algebra Using Mali 450

Hello i'm new to GPU and Computer vision. I just know some basic mathematics and was looking for the smallest and lightest processor with enough computation power to calculate large matrix multiplication and inversion so that i could do Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Neural Network, Intelligent and Advance Control techniques, Optimization and so on.

I am about to build a very small and low weight Quad-Rotor That should be intelligent Enough so it needs a powerful processor so I'v found this board :

Orange pi zero plus 2 (Allwinner H5 processor with quad cortex A53 core and 6 Mali 450 shader unit)

The CPU is well powerful Enough but i was wondering if its possible to do some algebraic calculations like matrix multiplication and inversion using the mali 450 GPU. is it possible?

i know that it only supports OpenGL not OpenCL. But is it possible to use OpenGL to do matrix calculation?

can i access GPU directly and force it to do mathematical calculations? Then i would write my own Libraries.

I'm quite familiar with arm cortex M series and Register Based Programming.

The most critical Application for me is Computer Vision. I could do the rest using CPU alone but it would be awesome if i could use this powerful 40GFlops GPU for Advanced Control techniques.

Parents
  • The only means to program the Mali-450 GPU is via the OpenGL ES 2.x graphics API, so you'll need to write a graphics shader program which reads input from an RGBA data texture or a gemetry mesh, and writes results back to an image in memory, and then interpret that as a data payload.