This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Complier V6 optimization problem

Dear All,

I have been using arm complier V5 for a couple of years and it works very good actually. I finished one complete project using V5 -O3 optimization level. However, I started new project and I would like to use V6. I read some notes like how to migrate or what should I consider when I write C code which will be complied V6.  I developed a very simple code just blinking a LED. It is "Hello World" code and it should work.  However, it doesn't work V6 with any optimization level except -O0. I complied the code again with V5 -O3 and -Otime and it worked well.

Let me write my simple code and then explain what happens:

-----------------------------

Counter = 0;

while (1)
  {
        if (Counter < 5)
        {
            GPIOD->BSRR = GPIO_PIN_5;               // Output is set and LED should give light.
         }
        else
        {
            GPIOD->BSRR = (uint32_t)GPIO_PIN_5<< 16  ;              // Output is set and LED should give light.
        }
        if(Counter > 10)
        {
            Counter = 0;
        }    
  }

//************************************************************************
void HAL_TIM_PeriodElapsedCallback(TIM_HandleTypeDef *htim)    // Timer 3 Interrupt subroutine It hits every 100ms.
{
    if(htim == &htim3)
    {
        Counter++;
    }
}

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------