This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

MALI G76 MC4 Vulkan driver bug

Hello.

I'm a researcher of modern Vulkan on mobiles.

There is a device XIAOMI Redmi Note  8 Pro, Android 10, MIUI 12.0.3 Global, Vulkan 1.1.108, Mali-G76 MC4.

Recently I have memory layout problem in the uniform buffer which is visible for vertex shader of VkPipeline. I have Github repository with full source which demonstrates the problem. Direct link to the commit is here.

From architecture standpoint the VkPipeline consists from two shader stages: vertex and fragment. There is a uniform buffer which contains an array of structs with proper paddings. The uniform buffer is binded to the descriptor set with index one and binding point with index zero.

#include "gpgpu_limits.inc"

struct ObjectData
{
    matrix          _localView;
    matrix          _localViewProjection;
    float4          _color0;
    float4          _color1;
    float4          _color2;
    float4          _color3;
};

[[vk::binding ( 0, 1 )]]
cbuffer InstanceData:       register ( b0 )
{
    // sizeof ( ObjectData ) = 192 bytes
    // sizeof ( InstanceData ) = 8064 bytes
    ObjectData      g_instanceData[ PBR_OPAQUE_MAX_INSTANCE_COUNT ];
}

gpgpu_limits.inc looks like this:

#define PBR_OPAQUE_MAX_INSTANCE_COUNT       42U

It was found that in runtime the vertex shader stage makes incorrect readings from uniform buffer in situations when there is no any usage the following parameters

float4          _color0;
float4          _color1;
float4          _color2;
float4          _color3;

So I tried to add some useless code to reference those the members in the vertex shader module. After that I got expected behavior.

OutputData VS ( in InputData inputData )
{
    OutputData result;

const ObjectData objectData = g_instanceData[ inputData._instanceIndex ];