Recommended book on ARM

HI,

i'm an ICT professional (so also with an IT background) and very much interested in embedded development (IoT solutions). Until now I mainly did embedded development (mainly ARM m3, m4 microprocessors based development boards: eg Spark Core, TI CC3200 MCU,...) using development environments based on Wiring. However I want to go a step further e.g. programming timer interrupts, using/porting existing libraries, etc. For this I need to program in embedded C (I already know some C). But between knowing (some) C and using it in embedded development i'm missing some parts. Therefore I'm looking for a good book, that can be understood by someone with an IT background, on embedded programming in C preferably for ARM m3/4 microprocessors? Who can give me some suggestions?

Thanks.

Guy

• Hi gdillen,

There are numerous articles online to start. Some of the links are as follows,

http://mbed.org/

http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Cortex%C2%AE-M3-Cortex%C2%AE-M4-Processors-Edition/dp/0124080820/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1380637433&sr=8-1&keywords=joseph+yiu

The best thing is you do some fun with the low cost development boards from ST and TI.

Also the ARM masteros are here in this community!!

You may visit the FAQS and already posted questions.

Regards,

techguyz

• Hi Guy,

pravinchanm gave great pointers.

What kind of holes/missing parts do you want to learn more about?

The "Definitive Cortex-Mx" books give you a very deep explanation about the MCU, and should go over the programming model.

You have tools which can also help you by making abstraction of the very low level. You can then get something running quickly and worry about understanding these low levels later, if you want.

Personally, I started to learn about the machine before really knowing how to program it. If that method allows you to write optimised code (as you know how it's executed), it doesn't really allow you to be quickly functional...

• Hi,